Spring 2014


Frank Abramson, ’69 BSB, is solely engaged in the practice of Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR), acting as a neutral arbitrator and mediator and other forms of ADR. He is a member of the Minnesota Statewide ADR-Rule 114 Civil and Family Neutral Rosters, and serves on a number of ADR panels.


John Edson, ’77 BSB, has been elected president of BPKZ Certified Public Accountants in Minneapolis.

Paul Ries, ’73 BSB, and his wife, Judy, have retired to Lynchburg, Va., to enjoy the warmer climate. They are also enjoying their travels to Europe, western U.S., and, of course, back to Minnesota to visit family and friends.


Steve Berch, ’81 MBA, has been elected to the Greater Boise Auditorium District Board of Directors in Idaho.

Scott Haugen, ’88 BSB, was named vice president of asset management at Founders Properties, LLC in Minneapolis.

Philip LaPorte, ’83 MA-IR, was elected as regional chair for the Southeast Region of the National Academy of Arbitrators.


Gordon Flanders, ’99 MBA, defended his dissertation, “The Effect of Course Completion within Selected Major on Persistence for Freshman College Students,” and earned his Doctor of Business Administration (DBA) from the University of Phoenix. Flanders, who is a faculty member at Montana Tech at the University of Montana, was also recently promoted to associate professor of business.

Wayne Hilbert, ’90 MBA, was named to the Minnesota Board of Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape Architecture, Geoscience and Interior Design by Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton. He is a principal architect and president of CNH Architects in Apple Valley, Minn.

Allen Lueth, ’91 BSB, vice president of finance for Cardinal Health China, hosted a group of Full-Time MBA students for a site visit in Shanghai as part of their Global Discovery program in January 2014.

Angela Maurer-Green, ’99 BSB, recently launched Maurer-Green Resources, an affiliate office of MRINetwork. Based in southwest Minneapolis, Maurer-Green Resources specializes in search and recruitment for the pharmaceutical and medical device industries, primarily in the area of clinical research.

Susan Rani, ’94 MBA, was named to the Mayo Clinic expansion board by Governor Dayton, along with, Jim Campbell, ’64 BSB, and former Minneapolis Mayor R.T. Rybak.

Kathleen Schmidlkofer, ’97 MBA, was selected by the trustees of the University of Minnesota Foundation to be its next president and CEO.

Patrick Wethington, ’92 MBA, CEO of CardioInsight Technologies, Inc., based in Cleveland, Ohio, was named to the National Kidney Foundation Board of Directors.


Trevor Bynum, ’03 MBA, was named president of Schwan’s Food Service. He is responsible for the strategic direction and growth of Schwan’s Food Service, the frozen-food selling subsidiary of Marshall, Minn.-based The Schwan Food Company.

Rob Cain, ’01 MBA, was named a partner in the technology consulting practice for PricewaterhouseCoopers in Atlanta, Ga. He is now doing IT strategy and CIO advisory.

Emily (Lauzon) Deng, ’05 BSB, has joined the Kellogg Company as senior manager, foreign trade operations. Deng and her husband have relocated to Battle Creek, Mich., home of Kellogg’s world headquarters.

Jimmer Dorweiler, ’07 BSB, was promoted to vice president at Green Manning & Bunch, based in Denver, Colo., in January 2014.

Anthony Gizinski, ’95 BSB, ’00 MBA, is president of SPECTRUM Commercial Services based in Bloomington, Minn. He was previously a vice president with Fidelity Bank.

Tim Huebsch, ’07 MBA, was awarded the 2013 Andrea Ruesch Outstanding Alumnus Award from the Minnesota State University Student Association.

Tom Ketteman, ’05 MBA, was named business manager for 3M Automotive in St. Paul.

Claudia Knowlton-Chike, ’04 MBA, was named senior vice president, supply chain for Nexeo Solutions, LLC, based in The Woodlands, Tex.

Brandon Miller, ’02 MBA, became the president and CEO of the Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Insurers Association.

Ryan Miske, ’05 MBA, was named president-elect of the Minnesota chapter of the Association for Corporate Growth.

Shashanka Muppaneni, ’08 BSB, was promoted to vice president, global airway at Smiths Medical in St. Paul.

Sara Reisdorf, ’04 MBA, was elected as one of 16 new shareholders of the Minneapolis-based law firm of Fredrikson & Byron.

David (Dave) Rosen, ’08 MBA, was named vice president of the East Region at the Coca-Cola Company.

Annie Young Scrivner, ’03 MBA, has been named executive vice president and president of Teavana. She was previously the executive vice president and president of Starbucks Canada.

Brian Sinotte, ’04 MBA, became CEO of MetroSouth Medical Center in Indiana.

Jesse G. Tischer, ’03 MHA, COO of Sanford Health Network, received the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) Early Career Healthcare Executive Regent’s Award. The award recognizes ACHE members who have made significant contributions to the advancement of healthcare management excellence and the achievement of ACHE’s goals.

Avanish Vellanki, ’04 MBA, was named CBO of Lorus Therapeutics, Inc. in Toronto.

Kevin Yu, ’09 BSB, was named an associate at ShoreView Industries in Minneapolis.


Alexander Baker, ’11 BSB, completed flight training for the U.S. Army. He is currently a 1st Lieutenant and UH-60 Black Hawk pilot in the Illinois National Guard. He is also a buyer apprentice for Sears Holding Corporation.

Mike Chlipala, ’10 BSB, joined Swiftype in San Francisco as a software engineer.

Erin Edgar, ’10 BSB, joined Unilever in Minneapolis as a customer supply chain analyst.

Erik Johnson, ’09 BSB, ’10 MAC, was promoted to finance manager at U.S. Bank in Minneapolis.

Jacob Liu, ’11 BSB, was named a mergers and acquisitions associate with Optum Corporate Development, at UnitedHealth Group, based in Minneapolis.

Richard Mills, ’10 MBA, became the chair for Vistage International’s Twin Cities group.

Vladimir Vano, ’11 MBA, was named head of the Central and Eastern Europe (CEE) Research Competence Center for Sberbank Europe AG, a banking group spanning eight countries of CEE by the board of Sberbank Europe AG.

Prathibha Varkey, ’13 MBA, was named CEO and president of the Clinical Enterprise, Seton Healthcare Family. Seton is the largest healthcare system in central Texas and part of the Ascension system. Varkey moved to Austin, Texas and is closer to her family.

Robert Vaupel, ’13 BSB, started at Kenneth Cole Productions in New York City within wholesale sales—women apparel.

In Memoriam

David Lilly, dean of the Carlson School from 1978 to 1983, passed away in February 2014. During his tenure as dean, he substantially broadened the school’s connections to the area business community.

Dale Olseth, ’52 BA, passed away in February 2014. He was a former president and CEO of Tonka Corporation, Medtronic, and Surmodics. He also served on the Carlson School’s Board of Overseers from 1986 to 2007 and was currently an emeritus member.

John Wheeler, ’42 BBA, passed away in October 2013. He taught at the University of Minnesota before becoming a professor at the University of California at Berkeley until retirement.

Share Your Opinion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *